Nau mai, haere mai. On 1 October, Housing New Zealand, HLC and KiwiBuild together became Kāinga Ora – Homes and Communities.

The information on this website is being moved to the new Kāinga Ora website.

Recognising Home Pride

20 December 2018

In November Housing New Zealand launched the Home Pride Awards to celebrate and recognise tenants who look after their Housing New Zealand homes and take pride in where they live.

And the nominations flooded in.

There were beautiful gardens, immaculately maintained interiors and many, many stories of tenants overcoming significant health and wellness struggles to better care for their homes and gardens.

Over the coming months, 14 award winners will be officially recognised and receive a framed Home Pride Award and gift voucher of their choice.

The smile says it all, Toria with her Tenancy Manager, Gary

And our first award winner from Hamilton is a very special lady.

69-year-old Toria has been in her Housing New Zealand home since 1991 and has kept it spic and span in spite of the many challenges she faces having Cerebral Palsy and being in a wheelchair.

A true inspiration, Toria is also an author and has published a book called “Robin’s Story: The Chrysalis” about the life of a cerebral palsied woman. Her book is an uplifting story about the power of positivity and living life to the full.

A truly worthy winner!

About the Home Pride Awards

A few months ago Senior Stakeholder Manager Marion came up with a special idea. She wanted an award to recognise the many tenants living in Housing New Zealand homes who take pride in their home care . Her idea took off and in November nominations were called for the 2018 Housing New Zealand Home Pride Awards.

Tenancy Managers around New Zealand got in the spirit and nominated tenants who had:

  • Shown a distinct improvement in home care and maintenance.
  • Demonstrated excellent care and maintenance of a home over a period of time.
  • Improved their home with lovely gardens, improvements to street appeal and interior decoration.

Each award winner will receive a gift voucher of their choice and a framed – Pride In Your Home Award.

Nominations for the Home Pride Awards will be called for again in April 2019.

Media Line

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now